NewPeopleBanner.jpg
Bomber Traverse-5.jpg
Sierras-86.jpg
NewPeopleBanner.jpg

People


PEOPLE

SCROLL DOWN

People


PEOPLE


The first time my dad put a camera in my hands, I was hooked.  Looking through the viewfinder and bringing things into focus seriously intrigued me.  I liked trying to capture moments and places in a way that brought you right back to them when you developed the negatives back in the darkroom or received the slides from the lab.  After the mandatory introduction to Ansel Adams, I've discovered other photographers over the years. I know just a few of them personally, but I certainly know their work.  It's important to be inspired.

Galen Rowell:  www.mountainlight.com

Corey Rich: www.coreyrich.com

Renan Ozturk: www.renanozturk.com

Jonathan Griffith: jonathangriffith.co.uk

Jimmy Chin: www.jimmychin.com


Bomber Traverse-5.jpg

Organizations for Good


Organizations for Good

Organizations for Good


Organizations for Good


I grew up in Minnesota. It's pretty, but flat. No real mountains to speak of, but cliffs big enough to climb and that was all I needed. Since then, climbing has taken me to many amazing places and given me the opportunity to explore this beautiful world we live in. There are tons of people and organizations out there who make it their mission to support the rest of us in our outdoor endeavors, so this list is just but a few. Feel free to reach out if you know of or are a part of other organizations doing great things! Especially if you need help documenting the grand things you're doing! I always want to learn more about the transformative work people are up to every day!


Mountains & Water:

American Alpine Club: www.americanalpineclub.org

Access Fund: www.accessfund.org

American Packrafting Association: www.packraft.org

Randolph Mountain Club: www.randolphmountainclub.org


When I was thirty, I was surprised to be sitting across the desk from a gastroenterologist in his office. I was even more surprised when he told me I had colon cancer. After I had a CT scan and some blood work done, surgery was scheduled. A partial colectomy, over a month spent recovering, and the amazingly lucky news I wouldn't need chemotherapy or radiation left me with a bit of a different perspective on things.  It's hard to take my health for granted now. It's hard to take my time, my relationships and my family for granted. I want to acknowledge, like above, the folks out there in this world who have made it their mission to support those of us going through something like cancer. Regardless of outcome, because some of us are luckier than others for reasons I can't explain, being told, "You have cancer," is something no one is ever prepared to hear.  Check out the selfless things these organizations are doing!


Cancer Advocacy and Support:

First Descents: firstdescents.org

Colon Club: colonclub.com

Fight Colorectal Cancer: www.fightcolorectalcancer.org


Sierras-86.jpg

Gear


GEAR

Gear


GEAR

Over the years, I've discovered that my enjoyment in the outdoors is often related to how well I'm prepared physically and mentally.  Aside from athleticism and mental preparedness, the gear we carry can often make or break a trip.  Below are links to companies that I support, and some who support me!  The companies listed are all my go-to's for packs, shelters, food, water treatment, stoves, power, ropes and navigation.  I'd highly recommend checking out all of these places and supporting local, U.S. businesses.


Hyperlite Mountain Gear: www.hyperlitemountaingear.com

Good-To-Go: goodto-go.com   

Grandy Oats: www.grandyoats.com

Voltaic Systems: www.voltaicsystems.com

JetBoil: www.jetboil.com

Steripen: www.steripen.com 

Sterling Rope Company: www.sterlingrope.com

DeLorme:www.inreachdelorme.com